A short update

I have gotten through the front shaping on the Shetland Shorty, with very little in the way of hiccoughs. I have a tendency to drop the second YO from the YO2, and not notice. Then when I get there on the next row, I have to recreate it. I’ve done it enough times now that I don’t really have to think about it.

I had a major screwup. I was doing the second set of shaping rows, and I’d almost finished one row at night, and when I picked it up in the morning, I wasn’t sure where I was. I looked back at the beginning of the row and figured out where I should be from that, but I didn’t remember getting that far. I counted rows, and it seemed to match up. So I did the next row based on where I thought I was, and then figured out I was wrong. Rather than undo two rows of knitting, I just dropped the stitches at the ends, where the problem was, and reknit them. Of course, the problem was that there should have been a YO and there wasn’t, so it was a little tight, but it seems okay.

I like doing Bird’s Eye Lace. I can’t remember if the necklace from Thing One’s Hallowe’en costume was the same lace pattern, or if it was just similar. It had the same sort of thing, though, with a double yarn over where you knit the first stitch and purl the second, and the rhythm of the needles when doing those stitches is just . . . fun.

I started getting a little bored at the beginning of this. The lace pattern is really only a four stitch/four row repeat, and while it’s fun, it’s easy. The only time I had to check the pattern was at the ends of the rows during the shaping. I managed to get myself excited about it again by thinking more about getting to wear it than just knitting it. I know this is something I’ve gone through before. It’s more than just getting close to finishing something and being impatient to get to wear it. It’s learning the pattern, memorizing it, and deciding I don’t need to do it anymore. Because I know it, it’s no longer interesting. I don’t know why I do this, when I can’t count the number of times I’ve read the original printing of The Stand by Stephen King (I do not like the updated version as much, some of those bits should have remained left out), or Jhereg by Stephen Brust. I think I’ve been infected with the idea that knitting is supposed to be fun and exciting. I don’t have any problem with it being fun and exciting, but I like that it can be something well-known and comforting, too. Just the rhythm of the needles moving through the stitches, the feel of the yarn sliding through my fingers, these make it a worthwhile effort.

Of course the funny looks I get on the stairs at work when I’m knitting away while walking are a good thing, too.

Leave a Reply

