Another short update

I’m almost finished with the Shetland Shorty! All I have left are the bands around the front/neck edges and the armholes.

One problem I have had with this pattern is that I absolutely hate weaving in ends, and it seems like there are a lot of places where the pattern has you break yarn where it’s unnecessary. Maybe it was less clunky to write the pattern that way, but I think in practice it could be done differently. If I decide I like it as much as I think I will, and I make another (my good spouse even suggested a color — purple! — he thought would look good on me), I will try that.

I had also thought maybe it could be done nicely top-down. I’m not sure about the ties, though. Casting on a few stitches in the middle of a garment isn’t bad, but I don’t know that I’d like to be casting on 120 stitches (60 for each tie) like that. I’m sure you’d want to do it ten at a time, to mirror the “short” row shaping (have I already complained that when the smallest number of stitches being worked is 180, it’s just plain wrong to call it “short row shaping”?!?), so that wouldn’t be completely horrific, but I still don’t know that I’d like it. Maybe I’ll try it someday.

As for the legwarmers, I still don’t understand why you have to move the end-of-round marker after you’ve finished the lozenge pattern. Why didn’t they just write it so that there was one more round of the lozenge? Or have two setup rounds for the open twist chart, or move the fifth row down to be the first . . . I just think it’s silly to change where you start keeping track of rounds when you’ve only got about five more inches to knit.

I added a whole bunch of stuff that I’ve knitted over the years, and some yarn, to my Ravelry notebook. Of course, I don’t have pictures, but bibliogrrl has offered to give me an old digital camera of hers, so I may be able to take and post pictures sometime soon! I’m going to have to add some of the patterns myself, but I think I can handle that.

Leave a Reply

