I don’t like the looks of this.

I think I’ve got my “panel” for the super secret project figured out, at least the basics. I felted it last night, and it seems to be a good size. Now, the problem is that I have some motifs I would like to add in another color. And I’m doing it in the round.

Intarsia scares me. I know it shouldn’t. I’ve been knitting for about thirty years. I have done intarsia plenty of times. I just have this irrational fear of creating puckered fabric. I have been telling myself for at least the last year that I need to get over it and just do some. I should probably do some Fair Isle, too. But that’s neither here nor there for this. This is intarsia all the way. I could do duplicate stitch, except that I have never managed to get duplicate stitch to actually work. I don’t know what I do wrong, but the duplicate yarn always slides to the side and gets lost or something. It’s very frustrating. Besides, I went through an awful lot of fussing around with geometry to figure out how to make this work so I could easily do the intarsia, and I would be really annoyed with myself if I wasted all that time. I could rework the pattern so it’s flat, but I really think this is something better done in the round. Plus, my goal is to have no seams.

Each motif is at most five stitches wide, and there isn’t a lot of main color inside the contrast color, so I think I will try out the method described at Moth Heaven. I probably don’t need to mention that I, too, like fiddly stuff. If that doesn’t work for me, there are also a few methods described on let me explaiKnit, so I’ll go there next.

I decided I’m not going to wait to actually get the other yarn. I’m going to substitute something else I already have, and if that works reasonably well, then I will buy more yarn. If it doesn’t, I’ll have saved myself time and money, and I need all of both of those I can get. Can’t everyone?

Leave a Reply

