A swift is a bird.

So says the good spouse.

I’m almost done with my second Sweet Little Nothing. As in, I have about ten rows left on a sleeve. So naturally, I’ve just finished the second skein. I didn’t feel like using the arm of the couch to hold the next skein while I wound it into a ball, so I looked for instructions for the Tinkertoy Swift and got Thing Two to build it for me.

I’ve never used a swift before. I don’t ever want to not use one again. The only problem I had with it is that I think I was winding the ball a little tighter than I normally do. (Of course, I tend to wind them very loosely, trying to compensate for all the extra-tight balls I wound when I was younger, I think. I’m sure it’s fine.) It took me at most half the time it would have taken to do it without the swift. I was really impressed. I don’t think I’d have wanted to do a larger skein or a heavier yarn, because the swift was looking a little limp towards the end, but for what it was, it was excellent.

I also found instructions for making a more permanent swift, and I know Schoolhouse Press used to sell The Gaffer’s instructions for making an umbrella swift (I keep meaning to see if they still do), and I think I will really have to get the good spouse to make one for me.

I don’t know that I’m interested in getting a ball winder. I kind of like the winding part, and I think I do a good job at it. Besides, I can’t stand it when people talk about their “yummy cakes of yarn.” It makes me think of Milo Minderbinder and his Egyptian cotton.

Leave a Reply

