Bootstraps, Pulling up by

I have been knitting more. I’ve gotten to the point where I no longer cringe when I think about it. I’m even interested in it, although I still feel guilty when my good spouse sees me knitting or working on my patterns (I’ve decided to go ahead with the dice bag, and I’m reworking the .pdf for the can cozy).

See, the problem started because he told me, during a fight several months ago, that all I ever did was knit, or talk about knitting, and he was sick of it. He hated it. We’d go to my mom’s house, and he’d have to sit there and listen to us talk about knitting. This was not the first time he’d expressed some resentment about my knitting, either.

So I stopped knitting at home. Then I started leaving my knitting bag in the car instead of even bringing it in the house. Then I started leaving it at work. Eventually, I took it home and left it there, untouched, for two months.

Finally, I decided that I couldn’t leave the projects still on the needles unfinished. The dice bag was the closest to being done, and is a potential money maker, so I started working on that one when he wasn’t around. Of course, now I’ve decided that I might need to change something in the design, but at least it’s something in the last part of the work, so I don’t have to start completely over (this time).

I’m working on the socks I started months ago, too. I’m almost finished with the first one. It’s going very quickly, which is good, because I want to finish them before I pick up the baby blanket again.

I’ve even been working on both these projects when he’s around. He hasn’t complained, although sometimes I think he seems annoyed. Maybe he isn’t. Maybe it was just something he said during a fight, and being pregnant (and just being me) I took it too hard, and I’ve been angry and upset about it for nothing. Even so, I’m not going to start taking my knitting with me in the car when we go anywhere, and I’m not going to talk to him about it, and I’ll try to keep my at-home-knitting to when he’s otherwise occupied. But, I’m not ready to give up something I’ve been doing for three quarters of my life over a stupid fight.

Leave a Reply

