Being sneaky

Except that I’m not, really. I’m making Grace a pair of Clandestine socks, and I haven’t told her I’m doing it, but since I’ve worked on them in front of her, and recently asked her to measure her foot, I don’t see how she can not know they’re for her.

Anyway.

I’m almost done with the first one. I have very little left of the first skein of KnitPicks Stroll that I’m using. I’m pretty sure there’s more than enough to finish the sock. (If there isn’t, I’m going to be really annoyed if I have to add on a new skein at the tip of the toe!) This means I should have two skeins leftover. I think Gracie will be getting a second pair of socks at some point (quite possibly Twisted). Good thing she likes this color!

I really like this pattern. (I have said all of this before, but I repeat myself sometimes. It’s a character flaw an amusing character trait of mine.) It’s not my style to wear, but I’ve really enjoyed knitting it. It’s quirky and different, and pretty fun. I think the instructions are easy to follow, although I really don’t think you need to put in the stitch markers (as mentioned in the post linked above). It may look a little intimidating, but I don’t think it really is.

Another note worth making (besides the stuff about the stitch markers) is that this is definitely better suited to using 4 dpns than circulars, at least in the leg. You repeat the pattern three times around the leg, and because of the nature of it, it’s really just best to have all the stitches for each repeat on the same needle.

I did misread the instructions for the toe, but I don’t think it’s going to be an issue (and it was my fault for misreading, not a problem with the instructions). After you move stitches a little to change the beginning of the round, you’re supposed to just knit a row, then do a row with the decreases. I missed the part about knitting one row plain. Instead, I knit the second row plain, then continued by following the directions (knitting the odd rows plain and doing decreases on the even rows). I’m sure Grace will never notice, even if I forget and do the second sock the way it’s supposed to be done.

Leave a Reply

