Still not a millionaire, but I’m working on it

The scarf and cuff set is being test knitted (test knit? What is the proper past tense form?) by a couple of people! Whoo-hoo! Of course, one of them sent me an e-mail with a big list of things even before she started knitting. I felt kind of dumb, but this is why it’s a good idea to have things tested. I’d have felt much more dumb if someone bought the pattern and pointed out the problems to me. I’m re-knitting the cuff, doing an extra pattern repeat to see if that will make it fit larger hands and wrists better. Okay, I’m taking a break from re-knitting the cuff right now. But I am working on it.

I’m also still working on that tank top that I’ve been working on for years. A couple of the pattern stitches tend to make a scalloped edge at the hem, and also curl up at the hem, and I had hoped that if I put a border on it, that would be enough to stop the curling. I was wrong. So now I’ve ripped out the four or five inches I had already done, and I’m doing swatches to see how I can fix it. I think I’ve got it figured out, so now I just need to rewrite the instructions I have for it, and finish making my prototype. I’d really like to have that done by the end of this month, so I can look for testers, and give them over a month to work on it. Knitty is accepting new patterns for the First Fall 2011 issue through April 1, I think. I want this pattern to be in there! I really think it’s perfect for Knitty.

I haven’t heard back from Twist about my submission. This is a good thing, right? That means they didn’t take one look at it and say, “Ha! Like we’d put that piece of crap anywhere near our name!” Unless they got so many submissions that they haven’t even gotten to mine yet.

Back when I did NaBloPoMo, in its first year, I set myself a schedule of general topics. That way, if I couldn’t come up with something off the cuff, I would have a built in topic for the day. I’m thinking about doing something similar here, but for more than just one month. Something like on Mondays I write about what I have planned for the week, and what I can cross off from last week’s list; Wednesdays I write about other people’s patterns: pattern reviews, pointing out patterns that I’ve seen and liked, maybe books that I want to get; then Fridays can be . . . something else. TBA. I want to plan out my schedule a bit more before committing to it, but I think it could be a good idea.

For now, I should get back to that cuff.

Leave a Reply

