Progress is being made

I usually don’t like knitting plain stockinette or garter stitch. It’s bo-ring. Sometimes, however, it’s nice and relaxing to set my mind on automatic and let it go.

The design I’m working on for the Knit Picks IDP has a scarf that is mostly garter stitch. I’ve received the yarn for the sample, and Thing Two made me a Tinkertoy Swift so I could wind it into a ball, and I started work on the scarf last Friday night.

I didn’t exactly crank out the garter stitch part like you would I-cord on one of those little machines with the, you know, crank, but it went a lot faster than I was afraid it would. And it’s amazingly satisfying to look at it and see how nice and even it is. (One of the best compliments that I ever received about my knitting was from my aunt who said, “Your stitches are so nice and even!”) Here it is with about ten inches knit, and the edges are nice and even (am I saying this too much?), and it’s still the same width.

When I got to the end of this half, it was still the same width. I’m very pleased with myself. I know, sometimes it doesn’t take much.

I’m pleased with the yarn, too. It’s pretty, isn’t it?
Summer Blooms
It’s Knit Picks Stroll Tonal (75% superwash Merino/25% nylon) in Summer Blooms. I’ve knit with Stroll before (and Essential, which is what Stroll was called in a previous incarnation), and it’s a nice yarn. It’s soft, has good stitch definition, and it isn’t splitty, even the part I’m working on right now where I had to rip out about five inches . . . yeah, remember what about my stitches being nice and even? They still were, it was just that I’d worked one row kind of loose and never managed to tighten it back up, so it was about one and a half times the length it should have been. But it was still nice and even! That’ll learn me for bragging. Maybe.

One of my test knitters is already done with her test, and she has been incredibly helpful. Hopefully I’ll be done with the sample by Saturday. I’m waiting to hear back from the other tester, still, but I think I might be able to send the pattern to a tech editor at the beginning of next week, and hopefully get everything back to Knit Picks soon after that. There isn’t an official deadline, since the IDP program is Independent, but I’m trying to keep as close to my intended schedule as I can.

Leave a Reply

