I’m cheating.

This is largely a re-post from my LJ. I know, this makes two food posts in a row, and food is not knitting, but we need both to survive, right?

I have decided that the best cure for PMS is what my mom called Quick Mix Fudge, but a lot of people apparently call No Bake Cookies (although maybe they don’t, because I think Grace told me she didn’t remember putting peanut butter in No Bake Cookies). Whatever you call it, it has chocolate (everyone knows chocolate is good for cramps and other PMS-y type symptoms, right?), peanut butter (if you didn’t know peanut butter is, too, now you do), and oatmeal (some women have *ahem* digestive tract issues at that time of the month, and oatmeal has fiber, what more could you ask?). So, here you go. It’s really simple. I’ve had it memorized since junior high, I think.

Quick Mix Fudge

½ c. margarine or butter (I use margarine)
½ c. milk
½ c. cocoa
2 c. sugar

In 2 qt. heavy saucepan, combine ingredients over med. heat. Bring to a rolling boil, allow to boil for one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Add

½ c. peanut butter
½ tsp. vanilla

Stir until peanut butter is melted. Add

3 c. rolled oats (regular! not the quick kind!)

Stir until combined. Drop by spoonfuls onto waxed paper or pour into greased 8 or 9 in. square pan and allow to cool.

My mom added the square pan part. I’ve never met anyone else who does it that way. I’m pretty sure it was because my brothers would make this all the time (no, I don’t think they had PMS when they did), and she got tired of losing all her waxed paper.

My suggestions:

1. Do not try to eat it directly from the saucepan after adding the oatmeal. I know, it’s very tempting, but you will burn the hell out of your mouth.

2. If you go the square pan route (which I highly recommend, as it doesn’t waste a bunch of waxed paper, and greasing cookie sheets for this just seems like a waste of time), do not put it in the refrigerator to get it to cool/set faster. It cools down all right, but it doesn’t set well. Trust me, I’ve tried. It will still taste really good, it’ll just be really messy. Be patient and wait. And leave enough in the saucepan to make it worth scraping it clean (after it’s cooled down a little bit, so you don’t burn the hell out of your mouth).;-)

3. Also, do not put it on top of the refrigerator in the hopes of hiding it from someone else. They will find it anyway, and even if it had been nicely set when you put it up there, the fridge gives off enough heat that it will melt a bit and not be as easy to dish out. It will still taste really good, it’ll just be really messy.

4. I prefer creamy peanut butter for this. Peanuts just sink to the bottom, and may keep it from setting well. It will still taste really good, it’ll just be really messy.

5. If you find yourself in the strange position of having unsweetened chocolate, but no cocoa powder, you can substitute three ounces (squares) of chocolate for the cocoa, and use only 5 TB margarine instead of a ½ c. That’s a little more chocolate than in the original recipe, so it’s a little darker, but Thing One, who doesn’t like dark chocolate (I didn’t when I was her age, either) didn’t notice the switch. In other words, it will still taste really good, and it won’t be any messier than usual.

You certainly don’t have to be in the throes of PMS to enjoy this. Just be warned that it is addictive. I swear I could eat an entire pan of it in one sitting . . . and then probably not be able to move for a day. But it would totally be worth it.


I’m finally adding a picture to this post.  I’ve been planning on doing that, anyway, but I had the extra incentive of joining a drawing for some great prizes, so here you go.

Bring your favorite chocolate dessert to Roxana’s home baking #chocolateparty and win amazing prizes from Imperial Sugar®Gold Medal Flour®Safest Choice™ Pasteurized Eggs and KitchenAid®

Just beware, if you go to read about the Chocolate Party, there are a ton of awesome looking chocolate recipes, and you may get lost in them.

Quick Mix Fudge

Quick Mix Fudge, AKA No Bake Cookies

2 Comments to “I’m cheating.”

  1. OMG. I like the idea of putting these in a pan.

    In my family we call these poop cookies.

Leave a Reply

