I’ve answered my own question.

609 stitches is quite a few, but I don’t think it’s a lot, according to the definition of “a lot” from my last post. It did take me several days to cast on that many, but that was, in part, because I kept changing my mind about what cast-on to use, and then because I have children.

I’m designing a shawl, if you couldn’t guess, and I was planning on submitting it to Twist (deadline on 9/8), particularly since the inspiration for it came from their mood boards. But, I’ve been changing my mind about just what shape it should be, and how to achieve the shape I want, and now I’m not sure I’ll have my mind made up well enough to make a coherent proposal. We’ll see what happens in the next three days. I figured if I could get the border done, maybe I could mess around with the body a bit and get an idea of what I think will work and get it written up. If I don’t make it in time, maybe I’ll hold on to it for the next Knitty, instead.

Wish me luck. I can use all of that I can get!

4 Comments to “I’ve answered my own question.”

  1. Good luck!
    I’m very curious to see your shawl

    • I still haven’t submitted it anywhere, in part because I have completely forgotten what size needles I used! I have new yarn to re-knit it. Now I just have to find time to do it!

  2. Good luck! I also try to submit stuff to online magazines… but I gave up rather quickly on that. I either can’t stand to keep things a secret, or can’t finish on time!

    • Thank you! Self-publishing is nice, since you can talk all you want and set your own schedule, but the advertising that comes with getting into a magazine would be really nice, too.:-)

Leave a Reply

