Archive for September 9th, 2011

September 9, 2011

She’s a mystery girl

Back at the end of July, I decided to look into just what a knit-along (KAL) was. I really felt pretty clueless about the concept. So I went to Ravelry, and searched the groups for knit-alongs.

Just so’s you know, there are a lot of them. I’m not sure if it’s “a lot” as defined by Chico Marx, but . . . it’s a lot.

It didn’t take me too long to find one that looked really interesting, though. Mystery220 is a Ravelry group that does a monthly, mystery KAL (or maybe two) that uses 220 yards of yarn, or less.

A regular KAL, as I understand it, is kind of like a book club. Instead of everyone getting the same book and reading so many chapters by the next meeting, everyone gets the same pattern, and they all try to knit to the same point in a set amount of time.

For a mystery knit-along, you don’t know what you’re making. Sometimes you’ll see a mystery knit-along advertised where you know that it’s a shawl, or a pair of socks, but you don’t know the specific pattern. With this group, you don’t even know that much. A couple of days before the start of the month, you’re told what kind of supplies you’ll need: yarn, needles, notions, and maybe a note about what kind of yarn would be appropriate.

Then, once a week (for this group, at least), you’re given a “clue,” which is a portion of the instructions. A thread is started for discussion (“What is this thing?” “Look at the pretty yarn I’m going to use!” “I don’t understand R12!”), and another one for pictures.

Then, some time after the last clue has been posted, the mods will post a link to the pattern. Sometimes you’ll have already figured out what you’re making, but sometimes you might not.

I did both of the KALs for August, and it was really a lot of fun. I’m only doing one of September’s, since I have a lot of other stuff to finish right now, but I think it’s going to be a lot of fun, too. You should join us!

