Le Mouton

Or would it be “la mouton”? Does mouton refer to either ewe or ram? I’m not sure. Anyway.

Part of my dissertation proposal was that I would also be learning how to play World of Warcraft (WoW) during this Nerd Wars tournament. And I have! I’ve got a free, starter account, and so far I’ve got a Draeni hunter named Ulva who is 20th level (the highest you can get with the starter version), and a Gnome rogue named Everingen who is . . . I think she’s 13th level right now.

What inspired me to give WoW a try, at least in part, was the Jean-Claude Van Damme ad.

He turns his enemies into sheep! Jean-Claude Van Damme is the spinner’s friend!

Last night, Everingen made her way to the Valley of Kings, and has been seeing sheep everywhere.

a sheep!

I have actual spinning news, too. I’ve finished spinning the second single.

2 singles

I’ve actually got it wound into a ball now, but I don’t have a picture of that. My mom had these plastic clamshell-type containers with holes in the top to thread yarn through, to keep balls of yarn from getting tangled. I borrowed a couple, and I’ll use those to hold the balls of singles while I ply them together.

I also finally found my mom’s spindle! I have to charge the batteries for my camera and take a good picture of it. It’s a cute little thing, and it’s already got a full cop of Sapphire’s fur (my mom’s dog who died about thirteen years ago). Mom had a lot of Sapphire’s fur, and was always planning to spin it into yarn and make . . . something with it. Now I have to decide what to do with all the fur, and this little bit of yarn she spun from it.

Leave a Reply

