Hi there.

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

Let’s see . . . my spinning dissertation for Nerd Wars failed. The hook fell out of my spindle just as I was getting ready to start spinning the final thing. I tried using my mom’s little spindle, but either the fiber was too slippery, or the whorl is, or something. The spun yarn kept unwinding from the shaft. Someone on my team gave me a suggestion for wrapping the yarn around the shaft, above the whorl (a top whorl spindle). I tried that, and it worked, a little, but it was still very frustrating, and I gave up for the time being. I’d already decided that spinning is not really for me. Neither is World of Warcraft. Oh, well. You don’t know if you don’t try, right?

I am doing Nerd Wars again this tournament (#5), but I stepped down from being captain. It was taking up way too much of my time, more than it needed to be, probably.

I’ve been thinking about doing a dissertation for this tournament, but I’m not sure. I want to participate in the summer Design Along challenge, and if I can come up with something in time, I can use that for my dissertation, too. The problem is, I’m having a hard time getting inspired. The theme for the Design Along is mythology. Here’s the mood board. It looks great, and I voted for mythology (the other options were harvest, back to school, and autumn leaves), so I should be able to come up with something. But I’m stumped.

I submitted a pattern idea to Knit Picks for their Late Winter/Early Spring 2013 collection (there are links to all the important information here). The deadline is actually the 15th, but the good spouse bet me $5 that I would still be saying, “I really need to get that proposal together,” by the 5th. At first I refused to take the bet, because I know myself too well, but then I decided to go ahead and do it. I turned in my submission on the 5th, and I have five shiny golden dollar coins in my mad money coffer. If it isn’t accepted, I’ll probably try to get it all finished in time to submit to Knitty for the Spring + Summer issue (deadline is January 2, should be plenty of time), and if they don’t like it, I’ll self-publish, including through the Knit Picks IDP thing, if they’ll take it there.

I haven’t been reading blogs much more than I’ve been writing in this one, but I’m trying to get back into doing that. Since my mom died, things have just really sucked, in many ways, but I’m trying desperately to claw my way back out of the hole I let myself sink into. I’ve actually posted a few things on my LiveJournal recently, and I expect I will be commenting more on other people’s blogs, and writing more here, in the near future.

2 Comments to “Hi there.”

  1. They say that you should give yourself a good year after a major loss to really recover. Things will get better, I know it! I’m already getting inspiration from other people’s designs for the DAL, so, I’m sure you’ll find something 🙂

Leave a Reply

